tries, etc. At a number of ports there are also graving docks which are dealt with separately below.

National Harbours Board.—Prior to October, 1935, the seven national harbours of Canada—Halifax, Saint John, Chicoutimi, Quebec, Three Rivers, Montreal, and Vancouver—were under the management and control of separate Harbour Commissions, each consisting of three persons appointed from the immediate locality. Orders in Council were passed on Oct. 31, 1935, accepting the resignation of the individual Harbour Commissions, and other Orders in Council passed, as of the same date, vesting in a single Board of three Harbour Commissioners the powers and responsibilities inherent in each of the seven former commissions. In this way effect was given to the more important recommendations of Sir Alexander Gibb, following his survey of national harbours in 1931.

During the 1936 session of Parliament, the individual Acts relating to the administration of these harbours were repealed and a single uniform Act (c. 42) substituted, placing the general direction and control of the national harbours referred to under the National Harbours Board, leaving the local administration in the hands of a port manager responsible to the Board. This legislation became effective on Oct. 1, 1936. An Order in Council was passed Feb. 27, 1937, transferring Churchill harbour (including the grain elevator) as well as grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, to the National Harbours Board for administration, management, and control.

In pursuance of the legislation referred to, the National Harbours Board, with headquarters at Ottawa, is responsible, under the Minister of Transport, for the administration of the harbours and grain elevators referred to above. Engineering works in the several harbours are carried on under the direct control of the Chief Engineer of the Board assisted by an engineering staff at headquarters and engineers on the works. The Board has local representatives at various harbours with title of port manager or superintendent. Accounting for each harbour is carried out by Treasury officers under the direction of the Comptroller of the Treasury and earnings at any harbour cannot be diverted for use elsewhere. All revenues and expenditures are subject to audit by the Auditor General of Canada.

In the statement below, a summary in tabular form is given of the most important facilities for the expeditious handling of cargo at six of the principal ports of Canada which are under the control of the National Harbours Board. The facilities include those under the control of other organizations as well as those of the Board at these ports.

Item.	Halifax.	Saint John.	Quebeo.	Three Rivers.	Montreal.	Vancou- ver.
Minimum depth of approach channel. ft. Harbour railwaymiles Fiers, wharves, jetties, etcNo. Length of berthingft. Cold storage warehouse capacityga.ft. Grain Elevators- Loading ratebu.per hr. Floating crane capacitytons Coal dock storage capacitygal.	1,000,000 2,200,000	\$24,000 880,000 3,000,000 135,000 Nil 34,000	743,642 500,000 4,000,000 90,000 50 214,750	Nii 7,400 192,000 Nii 2,000,000 32,000 Nii 300,000	58-5 101 54,863 2,043,000 4,628,000 15,162,000 400,000 75 2,000,000	35 27 28,600 1,310,000 1,277,000 18,653,000 312,000 50

FACILITIES OF SIX OF THE PRINCIPAL HARBOURS OF CANADA, AS AT DEC. 31, 1938.

¹ There is no harbour railway at Halifax but there are the following railway facilities: railway line at Dartmouth, 30.66 miles; storage yards, 68.67 miles; private sidings, 11.72 miles. ² Excluding Goverament piers. ³ Not reported.